sweetest dolls *^_^*

10 August 2013

backups

If I really, really love a products then I'll tend to have a back up of it juuust in case ... 
The OTT organisational control freak in me thinks 'just in case I run out and have to order it on line and end up waiting a few weeks, just in case I need a spare in my handbag or just in case on of my favourite products is (knowing my luck) discontinued'. 


These are some current backups, just in case ...
 

Philosophy Purity Made Simple Cleanser - My favourite pre-cleanser of all time.  It removes waterproof makeup without irritating my eyes  and long wearing foundation without stripping my skin or leaving it feeling 'squeeky clean' or dry.  I have been using this for years .. easily my 5th or 6th bottle.  And, always have travel-size bottles on hand.  

Etude House Wonder Pore Toner -  Great toner for combination to oily skin, it removes makeup and excess oils without leaving my skin feeling tight or dry.  What I love most is the huge bottle and pump! And even though I'm only half way through my first bottle, which has lasted me almost 9 months, I had to pick up a backup - see full review

Revlon Lip Butter in Strawberry Shortcake and Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla & Macadamia 
- My two favourite lip butters live in every corner of my house, one on the bed side table, one on the dressing table,  upstairs, downstairs, inside my hand back, at the office ... 

Benefit Fake Up Concealer - described as "hydrating crease-control concealer - with vitamin E and apple seed extract - hides dark circles & diffuses fine lines for a silky smooth, ultra natural look".  Fake Up has an unusual, almost lip-balm like texture on the outer rim and the concealer in the middle - so at first, I didn't think I would like it.  But surprisingly, the balmy texture makes it very easy to apply the concealer, it just glides on smoothly under the eye area and then dries to a natural, satin finish.  It has light to medium coverage, perfect for weekends when I don't need full coverage.  Full review coming soon ... 


Revlon Lip Butter in Strawberry Shortcake and Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla & Macadamia - My two favourite lip butters ... they live in every corner of my house, one on the bed side table, the dressing table, upstairs, downstairs, inside my hand back, at the office ... 


Benefit Total Moisture Facial Cream - What more can I say?  I have been using this for a couple of years, I have tried other night creams here and there but always come back to Benefit Total Moisture.  It has a super thick texture but on the skin, it doesn't feel 'heavy' or oily like many traditional night creams and leaves my skin feeling soft and hydrated - this would have to be my 3rd or 4th jar -  See past review

Essential Ultra Honey & Sheabutter Hair Mask - I'm pretty low maintenance when it comes to hair care, but the one thing I like to treat myself to is a deep conditioning hair mask.  I've tried a few but the Essential hair mask is the only one I've finished and re-purchased again and again.  Smells delicious and leaves my hair feeling super soft. 

Biore Makeup Remover for Eyes & Lips - Hands down, the most affordable and effective and gentlest makeup remover.  Removes every trace of waterproof mascara without tugging or pulling the eye area. 

Benefit Refine Finish Facial Polish - I can't say enough great things about the Benefit exfoliator, it has super fine beads that really help to unclog pores and smooth out the skin. Perfect for combination to oily skin, it really has  helped me over the years to help fade acne scars and pigmentation.  And, I always love to use this just before a big night out so my skin looks extra smooth.  Will definitely be purchasing backups for many years to come. 

Would love to know, what products do you always have a back up of?
Lots of love
Faye Lu xo

14 July 2013

Soap & Glory Sugar Crush Body Wash and Body Buttercream

I rarely purchase scented bath and body products without, at least, smelling the product first.  But after seeing so many great reviews on YouTube, I took a chance and picked up a couple of goodies from Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Range - 'sweet lime' fragrance - doesn't that sound delicious?


Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Wash: "Wake up and smell the citrus.  Soap & Glory's energising, revitalising fresh and foamy body wash scented with freshly squeezed lime."

Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Buttercream: "Wake up and smell the citrus. Soap & Glory's ultra rich body butter cream is loaded with shea & cocoa butter, almond & coconut oil and a super-refreshing double-citrus whammy of uplifing lime oil and smoothing lime tree blossom extract."


Opening the Body Buttercream for the very first time was *BAM* ... a lime explosion!  The Sugar Crush range definitely does not a soft or subtle scent and if you don't like zesty citrus scents, you probably won't like range.  And don't be fooled by "sweet lime" ... while the sugary-ness is there, the citrus lime is the dominating scent.  I would describe it like a summer drink, perhaps a sweet mojito ... or fizzy lemonade.  

I must admit, I didn't love the scent at first ... but after a few days, I am really starting to enjoy the products and can easily understand why so many people say the products make them feel "happy".  The Body Wash has a light creamy texture that lathers up nicely on a loofa and leaves my skin feeling nourished and not overly-stripped or dry.  The Body Buttercream has a luxurious light-weight formula that soaks into the skin straight away and doesn't leave the skin feeling oily or sticky.  And a little really does go a long way, I could see the tub lasting over winter.  Overall, it wasn't love at first sight (smell, in this case) but I am really loving Soap and Glory products.  

p.s. some other goodies I have been loving lately ...


Would love to know, are there any other S&G products that you have tried and would recommend? 

Hope you're having a fabulous day 
Lots of love 
Faye Lu xo

18 May 2013

Benefit Hello Flawless Foundation - Honey


I've always loved Benefit products and have been umm-ing and ahh-ing about picking up this foundation ever since it was launched almost a year ago.  But have always hesitated because I always feel more comfortable with full coverage and matte finish foundation (joys of dealing acne scars, redness and combination skin!) and the Benefit Hello Flawless Foundation is the complete opposite of what I like and what I am use to ... but surprisingly, I am loving this foundation!  It has easily become my new everyday foundation 

The Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow foundation is described as an "oil free brightening liquid foundation that builds from light to medium coverage for a natural complexion." Other goodies include:
- SPF 25 PA +++
- oil-free formula
- natural finish
- hydrating benefits
- light diffusing properties 
- available in 9 shades


The Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow foundation has a watery formula and has light-weight natural finish.  I use about a pump and a half and this provides me with medium coverage.  It's a very hydrating foundation and almost feels like a moisturiser!  However, because it is so hydrating, I would not recommend this foundation for super oily skin.  I have combination skin, with shine around the t-zone and MUST use this with a matte powder and touch ups through out the day.  But, because I love the medium coverage and light-weight texture so much, I am willing to work with it.  In the past, Benefit has been quite limited with its range of foundations shades but I think Benefit has come a long way, now offering 9 shades - I am in honey (I'm so money) but I could have also opted between a mix of honey and/or beige (I'm all the rage) - for reference, honey is just a touch lighter than NC30.  I love the packaging, it comes in a light travel-friendly bottle, which is a nice change from the bulky jars, and I am super impressed by the precision of the pump, it allows me to control down to a tee how much, or how little, of the product I want to dispense.  Sounds silly, but it's a winning feature and is hands-down best foundation pumps I've ever used. 

I'm kicking myself for waiting so long to try this product!

Would love to know, is there a product you've held off purchasing for a very long time - but once you tried it, ended up loving it?

Lots of love
Faye Lu xo

p.s. I love the (PROfessional) POREfessional too! 





10 May 2013

new love affair with lipglosses

Long time readers may know, I'm not really a lipgloss kind-of-girl.  
I'll always opt for a moisturising lipstick but have secretly always envied girls that can just walk out the door with a sheer coat of lipgloss ... I could never be able to get away with this look, mainly because my natural lips are so pigmented and I hate it!  Hence, I'm not a lipgloss kind-of-girl ...

But lately, I've discovered a few lipglosses that have really complemented (and covered) my natural lips



L'OREAL PARIS Glam Shine Stain Splash in Marilyn (left)

The Glam Shine is described a "It's a gloss that acts like a stain. It has a 30% water-based formula to quenche your thirst for shine AND lasting color.  A stain finish that lasts up to 6 hours".  While, there were a wide range of colours in the collection, I was only drawn to Marilyn, which is a beautiful vivid orchid pink.  The gel-like finish means that the gloss is not truly opaque but does add a deep colour on the lips.  To me, the Glam Shine lipgloss has a 'funny' formula.  It's not sticky (which is a great) but not is it creamy either (which I would have loved) ... instead, the water-based formula gives it a very jelly-ish texture.  And because of this, the gloss sits on top of the lips rather than sinks into the lips.  I don't mind the odd formula but could easily understand why some people may not like it.  It also has a subtle berry-ish scent.  I find that the Glam Shine lipgloss is best applied on a bare lip and worn by itself, rather than over a lipstick, to truly allow the stain to work.  Let's talk packaging, how chic is the gold packaging?  This is what shamefully sucked me in.  And the tear drop applicator just adds that extra touch of luxury. 

L'OREAL PARIS Glam Shine Stain Splash in Marilyn (above)


NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Beige #129 (middle) 

I am late to the NYX party and boy o boy I have been missing out.  
Recently, I picked up the NYX Mega Shine in Beige after the Youtube beauty world has been raving about it.  Beige is anything but beige, it's a bright mid-toned mauve pink.  The gloss has a creamy and non-sticky formula and provides an opaque wash of colour over the lips.  Beacause of the creamy formula, I like to wear this alone (even on my pigmented lips) and over lipsticks.  The Mega Shine Lip Glosses are famous for having a strong cherry-soda scent, which I don't mind and fades after a little while.  With over 50+ shades, I can't wait to pick up some more.


NYX Butter Gloss in Maple Blondie #BLG11 (right)

Not so late to this party, I picked a NYX Butter Gloss in Maple Blondie described as a bright deep peach.  True to its name, the Butter Gloss has a very creamy texture and non-sticky texture and (again) provides an opaque coverage over the lips.  The Butter Gloss has a subtle but delicious vanilla scent.  In terms of packaging, I really like the fact that the colour of the tube is pretty close to the actual colour of the gloss - super helpful, especially when shopping on line.  There are so many delicious colours in this collection, will definitely be adding more to my small, but growing, gloss collection!

Hope this post finds you very well.
Lots of love Faye Lu xo

Also, stop by and say 'Hi' and check out makeup of the day pictures on instagram: faye_lu


19 April 2013

all about the face - foundation routine & new goodies

I was tagged by @thrumyrosyglasses on Instagram to share my foundation routine.  
Over the years, my foundation routine has stayed pretty consistent, but there are a few additional products that have been included here and there .. and I am currently testing out  a range of new products for THE BIG DAY. 


Real Technique Core Collection: Contouring Brush (1st, left), Buffing Brush (2nd) and Pointed Foundation Brush (3rd, right). 

Benefit POREfessional primer - While I don't have visibly large pores, I still like to use a primer to help minimise my oily t-zone and to help my foundation last longer.  The Benefit Primer is my go to every day primer, it helps create that silky smooth base and also minimises the redness around my around my nose and chin areas. 

MAC Pro Long Wear Foundation in NC30 - Honestly, I have not found anything better and have lost count of how many time I have repurchased this.  It's long lasting, has a  close-to-matte finish and still looks fresh at the end of a long day. 

MAC Beauty Balm in Light Plus (the darkest shade) - As we head into winter in Australia, I like to mix the BB into my foundation to create a touch lighter shade.  Unfortunately, the BB cream is far too light for me to wear on its own, it's very close to NC20, but I really want to use this up and surprisingly, I do like the creamy light-weight texture and it doesn't make me oily like most other BB creams. 

MAC Pro Long Wear in NC20 - My go to under eye concealer.  It's full coverage, doesn't crease around the eye and is long lasting.  My only complaint about this concealer is the packaging, the tiny pumps always distributes too much product, I usually need less than half a pump. 

Urban Decay 24/7 Concealer Pencil in FBI and DEA - One of my new discoveries, the UD pencils are ridiculously creamy, which makes them easy to apply and blend without any tugging and pulling underneath the delicate eye area and provides medium-to-full coverage.  I tend to alternate under eye concealers just depending on my mood ... or how much sleep I've had.  

MAC Studio Fix Concealer in NC30 (not pictured) I prefer a cream concealer to cover up blemishes around the nose and chin area and any acne scars and my current go to powders include the MAC Pressed Powder and Chanel Universal Powder in 30 Natural. 

Real Techniques Core Collection - to apply my foundation, I have been reaching for the RT buffing brush (2nd brush).  I can understand why so many people love this brush.  It is perfect for applying and blending out liquid foundation, it's not too dense so it doesn't 'suck up' the liquid foundation into the brush ... it just picks up the right amount of product, without wasting any product. 

New Goodies


KIEHL'S Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution - described as 'a fast-acting serum that evens out skin tone and diminishes dark spots to impart overall radiance and luminosity to the skin'.  I have been using the serum as a spot treatment every night for a little over a month now and I haven't noticed any dramatic differences to the dark sun spots on the top of my cheek (eeekkk .. ageing !) and acne scars around my chin but will keep you updated on any progress over the coming weeks.  Fingers crossed!

Philosophy Purity Made Simple - A repurchase that is worth a mention, the Purity Cleanser falls into the can't-live-without skin care products ... literally, I ran out a few weeks ago and stopped using it for a few days and my face started to break out like crazy.  The Purity cleanser removes all traces of makeup, including water proof mascara, without irritating the eyes, without stripping natural oils and leaves my skin feeling soft and balanced.  I have read a few negative reviews about the scent and while it does have a noticeable lavender scent - I am usually the first to steer clear of floral scents in skin care - it doesn't really bother me.  

Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer - Described as 'luxuriously silky primer will conceal redness, minimize the appearance of pores, helps soften fine lines and wrinkles and repels water to ensure makeup appears fresh all day long'.  I had to have this primer as soon as I applied it on the back of my hand, it feels very luxurious on the skin, has a super light weight fluid texture and really does even out the skin to create a very smooth, soft base and it helps to control my shiny t-zone.  I use only half a pump, the smallest amount, and I find that this is more than enough to cover my nose, mouth and chin area.  

Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation in Bamboo Beige - described as 'an innovative full coverage foundation that makes the skin look luminous and rich.  By combining special collection of silk proteins and tea extras, Laura has created a luxurious formula that leaves skin feeling hydrated and protected with a radiant, timeless glow'.  I had been eyeing this foundation for a while after seeing all the great reviews on YouTube, and I can see why so many girls love this foundation.  True to its name, it does have a soft, cream texture and I only need the tiniest pea-size amount to achieve a medium-full coverage look with a semi-matte finish.  What I love about this foundation - no SPF, which is perfect for night time photos.  #SELFIES

As a bride-to-be, I am using this time to test out new primers and foundations, that will hopefully help my make up last all day and look great in photos.  
Would love to know if you've discovered any new goodies that may help out on my big day?

Lots of love
Faye Lu xo

28 March 2013

Lipsticks waiting to be loved (Part 1)

Sitting on my dressing table are a few new lipsticks that are waiting to be loved ... 
I usually have a handful of lipsticks in rotation (my current loves include MAC's Pink Pearl Pop and Sunny Seoul) and I try to finish up my current lipsticks before I start rocking new lipsticks.  Otherwise, I'd never finish up any lipsticks ... Is that weird?


MAC's Betty Bright (left) - described as a light vibrant peach with a satin finish.  
At first, I was going to pass on this because it looked very similar to Nicki Viva Glam but swatched side by side, Nicki is a touch more watermelon pink.  

Etude House Etoinette Crystal Shine Lips in PKK01 (middle) - a medium rosy pink with tiny shimmers. 

Topshop Lipstick in Brighton Rock (right) - a bright medium pink.    


MAC's Betty Bright

How pretty is the Etude House Etoinette Collection? 


Topshop Brighten Rock - swatched on the right

Would love to know, do you try and finish off current lipsticks before moving on to new lipsticks?  Or, do you have all your lipsticks on the go?

Next post - lipsticks that have been loved (empties) - Part 2

Hope everyone is having a fabulous day!
Faye Lu xo

19 March 2013

can't put down the CANMAKE perfect stylist eye in 01

I'm not really an eyeshadow kind-of-girl - I'm more comfortable with a nude shimmery eyeshadow, deep winged liner and lots of mascara eyeshadow (pink blush and pink lipsticj too of course!) and I'm out the door.

... But lately, I haven't been able to put down the CANMAKE perfect stylist eye in 01.



It has:

shimmery champaign (top left) - a favourite! perfect for an all over the lid colour by itself or used as a base colour.  Kind of reminds me of 'Bootycall' from the UDN2 palette. 

shimmery warm medium brown (top  right) - I haven't reached for this colour as much as the others because it doesn't show up as much on my skin tone but it's a pretty colour nonetheless. 

matte deep chocolate brown (bottom right) - Japanese / Korean shadows sometime looks like a glitter bomb has exploded in a palette so it's nice to see a matte colour included.  The deep brown is perfect to the crease and outer V area.  

a shimmery fairy floss pink (bottom left) - another favourite!

and glittery off-white (centre) - this is THE MOST prettiest shadow for using in the inner corners of the eyes ... just adds that little brightness and sparkle. 

The little sponge tip applicator is perfect for applying shadow in the inner corners of the eyes but I wouldn't use the brush to apply the shadows.  

Does anyone ever use the brush that comes in a palette?


The only thing that was disappointing about the "collection" (so to speak) was the lack of colours in the range - the palettes look too similar and it wouldn't be worthwhile to collect them all, which is a shame because the shadows are smooth, easy to blend and lasts all day. 


As a blogger, I must confess, I have been neglecting my blog - unfortunately Instagram, Youtube and now Pintrest (OMG a bride-to-be dream pin board!) has taken over most of my spare time when it comes to all things makeup and beauty.  

Would love to know, how do other bloggers find the balance between so many different social media channels?

 Hope this post finds you well - and you're having a wonderful day.


Lots of love 
Faye Lu xo

18 February 2013

Missing Thailand (Holiday Haul) & PEARYPIE

I can't lie ... 
one of the highlights of my Thailand holiday was stocking up on beauty and makeup products.  Yes, ridiculous amounts of makeup!  

Central Bangkok is easily one of the 'beauty meccas' of Asia - packed with all the brands we know and love but also local Thai brands that give some of the well-know brands a run for their money. 

I will go into detail in later posts - but for now, I just wanted to share a little sneak peek of some of the goodies that I picked up (where do I begin?) 


Lipstick from the Etude House Etoinette Collection (above)


Makeup brushes from the Etoinette Collection (above). 

 The quality of the brushes isn't that great but truthfully, I only purchased the brushes to display - yes, just display - on my dressing table. 

I was in heaven (for almost an hour!) at Etude House in Siam Square 




One of the great local beauty and makeup brands I discovered was Bisous Bisous.  Unfortunately, I think it is only available in Thailand ... but any excuse for a holiday right?

Do you think I picked up enough nail polishes?  



One of the major highlights of Bangkok was meeting Pearpie - a dreamer, an artist, an inspiration - and my one of my favourite Thai celebrities / Beauty Guru / Youtuber

Major *girl crush* I almost fainted from excitement!


Check out PEARYPIE'S channel: http://www.youtube.com/pearypie


I stopped by Sephora in Malaysia - it was my very first experience in a Sephora, we don't have anything like it in Australia and of course I had to pick up some goodies from Urban Decay.  I love the Urban Decay 27/7 concealers in DEA and FBI, super creamy and easy to blend, great coverage and perfect for creating that very a-la-Kim Kardashian bright under eye look.


Malaysia is also amazing for SHOES! lots and lots of shoes ... heaven for girls with super small feet!


And so my current daily favourites since I've been back (below) - how pretty is the Canmake palette ...


It's been a few weeks since I have been home and I am truly missing Thailand - who wouldn't miss this ...


Maya Beach, Phi Phi Island


But the highlight of my holiday was definitely ... 



He asked "Will you marry me?" ... and I say "YES!"

Hope everyone is having a wonderful start to 2013 ... it's going to be an exciting year!
Lots of love
Faye Lu xo

04 January 2013

FAYEourites 2012

Happy New Year!
While I discovered many new favourites in 2012, I also continued to mix in old favourites in my everyday makeup throughout the year.  A brief round up ... 


In order of how I apply my skin care and makeup ...

Moisturiser / eye cream: Biore Nourish Moisturiser Lotion SPF15 for the day (not pictured) - this is one of the best performing, most affordable, oil-free moisturisers - truly feels like a lotion and doesn't break me out.  As well as Benefit Total Moisture and Etude House Collagen Eye Cream the night.

TonerEtude House Wonder Pore Toner - my acne prone skin loves this.  I especially appreciate the pump packaging and the HUGE bottle.

PrimerEtude House Goodbye Pore Ever Primer - a must for my oily skin.  Love this product because a little goes a long way. 


FoundationMAC Pro Longwear Foundation in NC25-30 - a long time favourite since 201o and this would have to be my 5th or 6th bottle.

Concealer: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer (not pictured - while I actually like the sponge applicator but wish Maybelline would change the packaging because the twist-tube always breaks on me but other than that - it's an ahhhmazing product and makes me look 'wide awake'.  MAC Studio Fix Concealer in NC30 - this its perfect for covering acne scars or redness around my chin and nose because it doesn't budge!

Powder: Maybelline Dream Matte Powder (not pictured) - this has easily become my go to powder, it helps to control shine without making the skin look cakey.  

Brows: Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Brown (not pictured) - an oldie but a goodie!  The perfect brow pencil ... not too hard but not too soft/waxy. I have yet to find anything that beats it but I think I will venture into brow powders soon, for that more 'fuller' look ... would love to know if you have any brow powder recommendations?

Eye Primer: Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer - A recent new favourite ... that had me wondering, how did I ever live without this?  With super oily eyelids, this helps my eyeshadow look 'fresh' at the end of the day.

Eye shadowMAC Extra Dimension Eyeshadow in A Natural Flirt - I am a sucker for shimmery, champaign golds or peaches.  



Eye Liner: Dolly Wink Liquid Eyeliner - I haven't found anything better! And in 2012, Dolly Wink released it in 'brown', which easily became my everyday staple.


MascaraEtude House 3 Step Volumercara (Volume + Mascara) - love the brush ... seems like it was made for my eyelashes!  I usually apply two coats but the formula is also very buildable to create more 'fake looking' lashes. 


Bronzer: Benefit Hoola Bronzer - believe it or not, I only started experimenting with bronzers this year! And while I'm still trying to master the art of contouring (I have Kim Kardashian to thank for that), the Hoola Bronzer has been perfect for beginners - it's matte and not too orange-y.

BlushPeripera Smile Fit Blush in 3. Rose Pink and MAC blush in I'm The One - I couldn't pick between the two. 



HighlighterBenefit Watts Up Highligher - I prefer cream highlighters for that precise highlighting on the brow bone, nose bridge and cupid's bow and this one is a very natural champaign gold.

Lipstick / Lipgloss: Revlon Lip Butter in Strawberry Shortcake was my everyday lipstick but I used this more as a lip balm / lip base and was an makeup bag essential (below) and MAC Viva Glam in Nicki was my go-to party lip.  Revlon Super Lustrious Lipgloss in Pink Pop - love the colour and the moisturising, non-sticky formula.



Perfume: Britney Spears in Radiance - if you love berries, you'll love this.  Unfortunately the scent doesn't last all day but is light and sweet enough as an everyday perfume. I've repurchased this 3-4 times throughout the year. 


Tools: Sigma brushes - Mrs Bunny Collection and the Synthetic Brushes - what's not to love about Sigma brushes? They're super affordable and great quality. I couldn't imaging applying my foundation with any other brush other than the Sigma Flat Top Kabuki Brush F80!


Would love to know what were some of your favourites for the last year? Feel free to leave a link in the comment section  to your blog post.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful start to 2013!
I'm going to start packing for my trip to Thailand and Malaysia next week ... Super excited!
Lot's of love 
Faye Lu